The General Assembly

The general assembly is the decision-making body of ESA and meets annually. It approves the budget, elects the board and amends the association’s by-laws. It consists of all business members of the organisation, each represented by a permanent delegate.

The Board

The Board sets the direction of the organisation and approves the organisation's strategic plan for the forthcoming year. It supervises the work of the three working groups and is led by the president.

The President

Mathijs Peters is ESA’s current president until the two-year term ends in June 2023.

Board Members

Name Company Country Role
ADAMS, Julie * CA Almond Board USA WG Chair
HARLACHER, Roger Zweifel-Pomy Switzerland Corporate Member
KALBFLEISCH, Horst * Lorenz Snack-World Germany WG Chair
LEERDAM, Maarten Intersnack Group Germany Corporate Member
MAGLIO, Valentina Unichips Italy Corporate Member
DELVA, Stephanie * Kellogg   WG Chair
PEACOCK, Nina Kellogg   Corporate Member
PETERS, Mathijs PepsiCo Western Europe President
SKEHAN, Paul PepsiCo Western Europe Corporate Member
TORCK, Robert Lorenz Snack-World Germany Corporate Member
VITALONI, Susanna Unichips Italy Corporate Member

Associate Directors

Name Company Country Role
COLLINS, Carmel ** Kerry Ireland Associate Director
WADSTEN, Göran *** Rosenqvists Sweden Associate Director

Director General

Name Company Country Role
EMIG, Sebastian ESA Belgium Director General
(*) Elected Board members by virtue of the fact that they are the respective chairpersons of the ECR; Public Affairs and Communications and Nut Processors Working Groups
(**) Term of office ends 1/3/21
(***) Term of office ends 1/9/21

The Working Groups

Three working groups cover the priorities of the industry and work towards implementing the Association’s strategic plan:

  • EC regulatory working group, chaired by Horst Kalbfleisch (Lorenz Snack-World), is looking after technical and regulatory topics

  • Nut processors working group, chaired by Julie Adams (Almond Board of California), works on nut-related themes

  • Public Affairs & Communications working group, chaired by Stephanie Delva (Kellogg), is focusing on advocacy and outreach